top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
Search

Culinary Medicine Week 12 (12/4-12/8)

In our final full week in the semester and in Culinary Medicine, we had two incredible guests and made some of my favorite dishes! Firstly, we kicked off the week with one of our very own admins, Mrs. Abel, who demonstrated how she makes granola! Since she has a child with an egg allergy, she has had many trials and errors when it comes to making granola that is both safe for her daughter and delicious! After talking with us about her story, we quickly went to work making our granola! My table partner and I popped Amaranth, a high-protein and anti-inflammatory grain in our pots like popcorn! Although it took us many tries since it burns very easily, we finally popped our Amaranth perfectly and saved it to put into our granola mixture! I was unfortunately absent the day we mixed all of our ingredients and baked them in the oven, I did however get to try this delicious dish! This granola was so good and had so many nutritious elements that are good for your body!

At the end of the week, a nutritionist for the Green Bay Packers and a local Mobile resident came and assisted our class with our last cuisine of the semester, Asian. With his help, we made vegetable fried rice, and chicken lo mein. It was so much fun to meet a nutritionist for an NFL team and talk with him about his career and how he feeds so many giant athletes daily. It was also super interesting to easily make this food with things you can find in your local grocery store, which I didn't think was possible if I wasn't a professional!

As I reflect on my semester in Culinary Medicine, I think this class was extremely beneficial for me as I make my way through high school and into adult life. While learning the proper way to hold a knife or cut certain vegetables may be boring at the moment, I can already see the difference it has made in my everyday life to know these small skills! Taking this class has further prepared me for any future instances that may arise where I will need to provide meals for not only myself but also my family.

Recent Posts

See All

Elbow and Elbow Injuries!

On Tuesday, April 30, 2024, Dr. Peter Rippey, a Family Medicine Physician from USA Sports Medicine lectured on the elbow and the injuries...

Forensics Week Day 5!

On the fifth and final day of Forensics Week, my group and I presented the slide presentation we made after investigating the scene of...

Comments


bottom of page