top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
Search

Culinary Medicine Week 2 (8-28/9-1)

In the second week of Culinary Medicine, We learned about food colors, performed an Egg Lab in the Culinary Lab with alumna, Ms. Amber, and prepared a Rainbow Salad together as a class!

On Monday, we talked about the different natural colors in food. The colors include, Red, Red-Orange, Yellow-Orange, Yellow, Yellow-Green, Green, Green-White, and Red-Purple. Within these catagories, their are certain foods that exist in each, and all contain different nutrients that the body needs. It is important to incorporate as many colors as you can into every meal you eat!

On Tuesday, We performed an Egg Lab in the Culinary Lab! Ms. Amber, a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and an alumna of St. Luke's came and talked to us about her career and helped us preform the lab. My partner Evelyn and I, were asked to "soft-boil" an egg. I had never soft-boiled an egg before so I was interested to see the difference between that and a hard-boiled. After the lab concluded and I tried my egg, I learned that I am not a fan of soft-boiled eggs!

On Wednesday and Thurday, We as a class followed a recipe and each had a specific job to contribute to our Rainbow Salad. On Wednesday, I de-shelled pistachios for the topping of the salad, and on Thursday I helped make what I think is the most important part of a salad, the dressing. The dressing we made was a creamy balsamic dressing, and It tasted a lot better than I thought it would! Although I had made dressing and de-shelled pistachios before, I felt accomplished knowing that I had contributed to my class by helping create a dish!


Recent Posts

See All

Elbow and Elbow Injuries!

On Tuesday, April 30, 2024, Dr. Peter Rippey, a Family Medicine Physician from USA Sports Medicine lectured on the elbow and the injuries...

Forensics Week Day 5!

On the fifth and final day of Forensics Week, my group and I presented the slide presentation we made after investigating the scene of...

Comments


bottom of page