top of page
Search

Iv and Auscultation Lab!

On February 4, 2022, Two nurses from the University of Mobile came to our class and demonstrated how to stick an IV into a vein and how to tell the difference between heart and lung sounds in different locations with a stethoscope!

Each of my classmates got to stick their own IV into a fake arm connected to a fake blood bag to get true blood return. I also learned how to tie a tourniquet the right way not completely cutting off the patients circulation. I then proceeded to apply pressure on the area I was about to stick, find a vein, push in hard, and then after I got into the vein I immediately got blood return.

The other part of the lab was listening to heart and lung sounds on a fake chest machine. There were marks on it indicating which area made heart sound sand which made lung sounds. The nurse who was explaining the lab to me also played special sounds from a remote to demonstrate what healthy and unhealthy sounds are and how they sounds different from one another.

After this lab I had a better understanding of how easy it is to give an IV and know the difference in what areas of the chest and back give what sounds from either your heart or lungs and how to tell if those sounds were healthy or not!

Recent Posts

See All

Elbow and Elbow Injuries!

On Tuesday, April 30, 2024, Dr. Peter Rippey, a Family Medicine Physician from USA Sports Medicine lectured on the elbow and the injuries...

Forensics Week Day 5!

On the fifth and final day of Forensics Week, my group and I presented the slide presentation we made after investigating the scene of...

Comentarios


bottom of page