top of page
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
Search

Culinary Medicine Week 7 (10/2-10/6)

At the end of last week, we had our final baking session. From prior sessions, I learned that with baking comes trial and error, and the more you experiment and make a recipe, the better it will come out! We made many types of muffins, with my favorites being chocolate zucchini and banana poppy seed! After retrying the recipe, they came out soft and super fluffy! We tried to use less processed and fresher ingredients to make them healthier to eat and enjoy!

Early in the week, we lectured on Spices and Herbs, and their differences and medicinal properties. What is the difference? Herbs are the leaves of the plant, while spices come from the roots, bark, and seeds. These herbs and spices have many medicinal properties and can be linked to the prevention of some diseases such as heart disease, diabetes, lower blood sugar, and boost immunity! It was so interesting to learn about these properties in the everyday toppings you put on your food without even thinking about it!

In the middle of the week, Mrs. Cheryl came back to our class to conduct a spice lab! In this lab, we smelt the different types of spices in our kitchen and thought of what ways and foods these spices can be used in. My favorite spice was garlic powder because I love to put it on most of my food at home. My least favorite spice however was the cayenne, It made my nose sting! This lab was so much fun and I learned some quick facts about some spices that I would have never learned otherwise!

Toward the end of this week, our class worked together to make Pepper Nachos! My table partner and I's jobs consisted of making the 9 ingredient taco seasoning, which is much healthier than the packaged seasoning you usually buy at the store, and cutting the small bell peppers that the filling would go in! Other student's jobs consisted of browning meat, cutting vegetables, and making salsa! These nachos turned out delicious and it was so much fun to work together with my class as a team to create such a delicious dish!


Recent Posts

See All

Elbow and Elbow Injuries!

On Tuesday, April 30, 2024, Dr. Peter Rippey, a Family Medicine Physician from USA Sports Medicine lectured on the elbow and the injuries...

Forensics Week Day 5!

On the fifth and final day of Forensics Week, my group and I presented the slide presentation we made after investigating the scene of...

Comments


bottom of page